Melt and Pour Donut Soaps

Raise your hand if you’ve been binge watching tv while social distancing.

I’m not a Netflix girl, or even a Hulu girl. I’m a Youtube girl. I love browsing around and discovering creative peeps showcasing their craft. Bonus points if they make me laugh! Lately, I’ve been binge watching Royalty Soaps.

As much as I want to try my hand at cold process soap making, I understand that my kids are just a little too young to be around the ingredients. Melt and pour soap seemed like a great alternative for us.

Here’s what we used:

This melt and pour soap base from Amazon. We had enough to make a dozen donuts with a little extra.

I bought this set of colorants. I wanted a variety for my girls to chose from. They worked great and did not stain my sinks or bathtubs.

To make our soaps smell good, I used the brown sugar and snickerdoodle oil from this fragrance oil set. I like the P&J company for fragrance oils, but I buy my essential oils from a friend.

Lastly, you’ll need a donut mold made from silicone. I couldn’t find a link to the exact one that I used, because I bought mine from a local bakery supply store. Amazon has several options that you can find here.

You’ll also want to grab some paper cups, popsicle sticks, and maybe some newspaper to cover your work-surface.

  1. Follow the directions on your melt and pour soap base and melt 2-3 one inch cubes at a time. Place the cubes in your paper cup and microwave for the recommended amount of time. Stay right by the microwave and watch for overflow. Sometimes the soap gets “excited” and it’s like a little volcano science project in there!
  2. Remove your cup and stir the soap with a popsicle stick. Repeat microwaving the soap until it’s fully melted at 10 second intervals.
  3. Add your colorants and fragrance oils to your cup and stir until combined. I recommend adding just a few drops of the colorant and mixing before adding more. Some of my girl’s soaps ended up pretty dark because they just couldn’t help but squeeze the life out of the droppers.
  4. Because you’re using a paper cup, you can pinch on the the sides of the rim to make almost a spout for the soap to pour from. This helps even little 3 year olds pour their own soap successfully into the mold.
  5. Allow your soap to rest for 45 minutes, or as long as your soap base recommends. Try not to gigggle or move the mold around while the soap is setting.
  6. To make sprinkles, I poured extra colored soap onto some tin foil. I just made long strips and this set up pretty quickly. Next I used some scissors to cut the strips into tiny little sprinkles. Set these aside for later.
  7. Once your donuts are set, pop them out of the mold. If you have a cooling rack of some sort, place the donuts on that with some paper underneath. If not, you can just place them on parchment paper or tinfoil.
  8. Melt down 1-2 cubes of your soap base. This is your donut glaze! You’ll have to work fast, so make sure you’re ready to sprinkle!
  9. Quickly pour your “glaze” over the donuts and add your sprinkles. This takes two people working at the same time because the “glaze” sets up so quickly.
  10. If you’re working on a rack, congrats! You’re done!
  11. If you’ve set your soaps flat on some tinfoil, you might have to do a little surgery and remove the excess “glaze” from the sides and the middle.

I recommend displaying these cuties in the bathroom on a cake stand. Let your kids pick one or two to use in the bathtub. They last for up to three bath sessions each.

Or, make a bunch of them and give them away as gifts! How cute would it be to box them up like real donuts!?

Have your tried this project?

I’d love to see your photos! Please send them to me on Instagram at @MissYellowShoes or tag me in your post. I would love to see what you come up with and I would love to feature you!

P.S. Currently, I’m not getting paid to share my Amazon recommendations with you. I’m just one friend sharing her favorites with another. šŸ™‚

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started